The salesperson pre-licensing educational requirement is 90 hours. The number of credit hours accepted for credit toward this 90-hour requirement will be determined by the LREC. The LREC may consider granting partial credit toward the pre-licensing requirement for courses completed more than five years prior to the date of application; however, such credit will be based on the date of completion and the applicability of the subject matter to current educational requirements. Salesperson pre-licensing hours must be in specific real estate courses that include coverage of real estate principles/practices, the Louisiana Real Estate License Law, Commission Rules/Regulations, Law of Agency, and Civil Law pertaining to real estate. Courses may be obtained through the following sources:
State-certified real estate schools
Education must be taken from an LREC state-certified real estate school. Find an LREC approved pre-licensing school.
College and Universities
Credit for real estate courses completed at a college or university will be granted by the LREC based on the applicability of the subject matter to the current pre-licensing course requirements. The applicant must submit an official transcript to the LREC with a written request for a review toward the salesperson pre-licensing educational requirements. The written request must include complete name, mailing address, and telephone number. Approval for credit for coursework must be obtained by the applicant prior to submission of an application for licensing. Submissions must be emailed to the Education Division at firstname.lastname@example.org for review prior to submitting an application for licensing. Please allow at up to 30 days for a response.
Coursework completed in other licensing jurisdictions
Partial credit may be granted for real estate courses completed in other licensing jurisdictions. No substitution will be allowed for the 30-hour portion of the 90-hour requirement that covers the Louisiana Real Estate License Law, Commission Rules/Regulations, Law of Agency, and Civil Law pertaining to real estate. The applicant must submit a current certificate of licensure to the LREC with a written request for a review toward the salesperson pre-licensing educational requirements. The written request must include complete name, mailing address, and telephone number. Approval for credit for coursework completed in other jurisdictions must be obtained by the applicant prior to submission of an application for licensing. Please allow at up to 30 days for a response.
Frequently Asked Questions
In the year a licensee is initially issued is a salesperson required to complete the 12-hour continuing education requirement? :Yes, in the year issued, an initial licensee is required to complete 12 hours of continuing education, including any LREC Mandatory course topic(s) prior to renewing an active license. This does not relieve the licensee of the post licensing education requirement that is due within 180 days of initial date of licensure. In the year completed, your post-licensing education hours may be used to satisfy a portion of the 12-hour annual continuing education requirement; however, post-licensing education hours will not satisfy the mandatory course topic(s) hours specified by the Commission.
Can license applicants complete pre-licensing hours through distance learning? Yes, under certain conditions. Pre-licensing courses completed via distance learning must be Internet-based and completed through a Louisiana state certified real estate school that has been approved by the Association of Real Estate License Law Officials (ARELLO) for delivery standards and by the Commission for course content.
Is an examination required for pre-licensing credit? Yes. Students must complete a final examination on course content as a condition for receiving a certificate of completion from an approved real estate school.