Obtain A License
Due to the COVID-19 public health emergency, certain restrictions have been implemented, which temporarily suspended testing for real estate and appraiser licensing. Since the real estate and appraisal industries have been deemed essential by applicable state and federal authorities, the aforementioned restrictions have been modified.
Effective April 13, 2020, PSI will resume testing on a limited basis while administering all testing pursuant to Centers for Disease Control (CDC) guidelines. The limited testing locations that are open are as follows: Lafayette, Shreveport and Metairie.
Please note, your decision to test at a PSI testing site during this time is strictly voluntary and at your sole discretion. The LREC/LREAB has granted exam authorizations to any applicant who submitted an application during the pendency of the COVID-19 public health emergency. Exam authorizations are valid for 90 days, but an extension of 30 days will be granted to any applicant who decides to test at a future date.
Please contact PSI directly for information related to testing sites, scheduling requirements, and cancellation and closure protocols.
Individuals or companies desiring to conduct real estate activity in Louisiana must make application for a license or certificate with the Commission.
The first step in the process to acquire a Real Estate License is to create an Applicant Account at StateReporting.com, our partner in the management of pre-license education.
Individuals who have been convicted of a felony will need to follow the felony applicant process.
Licenses may be issued in either the active or inactive status.
Non-licensed individuals or companies shall not accept compensation in any form for conducting real estate activity in the state of Louisiana.
Individuals or entities desiring to conduct business in Louisiana as a real estate school or continuing education vendor must make application for certification with the Commission.
Individuals desiring to obtain education pre-licensing instructor certification must make application with the Commission.
Individuals or companies intending to create a timeshare plan or to sell timeshare interests must first register with the Commission.
This section of the LREC website is for use by all individuals and companies seeking to obtain a license or certification. Select the type of license you are interested in obtaining from the sidebar on this page for more information.