EFFECTIVE – Monday, July 3, 2023

In accordance with Act 553 of the 2022 Regular Legislative Session, all initial license applicants and all applicants requesting reinstatement shall be required to complete a fingerprint-based criminal history review conducted by the Louisiana State Police.

Below are frequently asked questions regarding the new process.


No. The new rule only applies to applicants completing the initial license process and applicants requesting reinstatement. However, current salespersons who will be upgrading to a broker license will be required to complete the background check and fingerprinting requirement as part of their initial broker application process.
No. You will continue to renew your license following the same procedures used in the past. The fingerprint-based criminal history review only applies to initial license applicants, NOT current licensees. Additionally, current license holders will not need to complete this process to maintain their license when the new procedure becomes effective on Monday, July 3, 2023.
The current cost for a background check with Louisiana State Police and the FBI is $39.25. If an applicant chooses to visit Louisiana State Police Headquarters in Baton Rouge to be fingerprinted, an additional $10.00 fee ($49.25) will be assessed.
Applicants may visit Louisiana State Police Headquarters in Baton Rouge to pay with a debit or credit card (convenience fee applies). Money orders, business checks, and cashier’s checks are also accepted; however, two separate checks/money orders will be needed for applicants choosing this payment option. One check/money order for the criminal history background check ($39.25) and another check/money order for the fingerprinting fee ($10.00) if the applicant chooses to have their fingerprints processed at Louisiana State Police. Please note: All checks/money orders should be made payable to Louisiana State Police. Cash and personal checks are NOT acceptable forms of payment.
Yes. Louisiana State Police recommends applicants contact their local law enforcement office to inquire about their fingerprinting process. The fingerprinting card will still need to be submitted to Louisiana State Police along with your other documents.
No. the ClearBox background check is good for one year. If that background check expires before you obtain your license, you will be required to complete the new process.
Your completed results will be valid for up to one year.

An initial applicant or a reinstatement applicant, who has submitted and paid all fees for fingerprint-based criminal history records check with the Louisiana State Police, shall complete all other requirements for his or her licensure in accordance with the Louisiana Real Estate License Law (La. R.S. 37:1430 et seq) on or before the expiration date of the license application, occurring one (1) year after the actual date of the LSP clearance or criminal records history report. Fingerprinting is not required in any manner for any person renewing an existing license.
Once all the forms and required information have been submitted to the Louisiana State Police, it can take up to 21 business days to receive the results. The LREC recommends all applicants plan accordingly in their timeline for licensure.
Once completed, the following items should all be submitted to the Louisiana State Police Bureau:
Background Check Authorization Form
Rapsheet Disclosure
• Fingerprinting fee ($10.00) OR fingerprinting card (if not being processed by Louisiana State Police)
• Background check fee ($39.25)
Please note: No money or forms relating to background checks or fingerprinting should be sent to the LREC.
Physical Address: 7919 Independence Blvd. Baton Rouge, LA 70806
Mailing Address: P.O. Box 66614, #A-6 Baton Rouge, LA 70896-6614

Please contact us at info@lrec.gov with any questions not answered here.