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REAL ESTATE EDUCATION

All professions, including legal, medical and
financial planning require their licensees to take
advantage of continuing education to upgrade
their respective professions and provide a better
level of service to the public. The professional
practice of real estate is no exception. In Louisiana,
all active real estate licensees must complete a
total of twelve (12) hours of continuing education
annually, inclusive of a four (4) hour mandatory
topic selected by the Commission. In conjunction
with this legal requirement, your Louisiana Real
Estate Commission is committed to providing the
best educational opportunities possible for all our
licensees.

Your LREC has approved over 700
continuing education courses to provide our
licensees with an extensive “cafeteria” of topics
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and course vendors from which the licensee can
choose. Courses can be taken in a live classroom
setting or online. The annual mandatory course
is developed by an outside professional course
developer, selected through a Request for Proposal
process to promote competitive excellence.

A new forty-five (45) hour post-licensing
course, developed with input from subject matter
experts covering all phases of real estate practice,
is now being completed and will replace all current
post license offerings beginning January 1. Initial
reviews of our updated Post-License course
indicate it will be the most comprehensive course
of its kind in the nation!

If you haven’t completed your CE for 2013,
now is a great time to start. You can easily access
your education records on our website. We now
offer electronic reporting for schools and vendors
offering continuing education courses, which
enable us to update your education record as they
report on a monthly basis. Keep in mind, if you just
completed a course, credit will not show up in your
LREC file until reported by the course provider
after month end.

Remember, if your course provider and/or
the Commission cannot identify who you are, you
may get caught up in a year end CE audit which
will require you to then furnish certificates as proof
of completion.

In fulfilling our core mission of providing
quality education to our licensees, we want your
input on any topics or delivery methods you feel
would benefit the profession. Call or email us
at any time with your ideas. We welcome and
encourage your thoughts!

Sincerely,

Pat Caffery
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Investigator’s Desk

Continuing
Education
Audit Mistakes

Everyyear, the Louisiana Real Estate Commission performs an auditto ensure that licensees

practicing real estate in Louisiana have obtained the required continuing and post-license

education hours. Through education, we can ensure that every licensee is up to date on

industry standards and has a clear understanding of the do’s and don’ts that regulate our
industry.

Those licensees who fail to obtain the required twelve (12) hours of continuing education

before renewing their license or licensees who failed to obtain the forty-five (45) hour

post-licensing course within 180 days of being issued a salesperson’s license or upgraded

broker’s license face a sanction that will include: license censure and a $325 fine. The

licensee will also be required to make up the necessary coursework to meet the minimum
hour criteria.

A salesperson who only obtained the four
(4) hour mandatory course was caught in the 2011
audit, being short the required eight (8) hours of
elective courses. After the renewal process, the
LREC performed the audit, and the case was
opened in 2012. The licensee was notified in
July of 2012, and he signed the Stipulations and
Consent Order, paid the $325 fine and agreed that
the eight (8) hours that he took in the early part of
2012 would be used to satisfy the Consent Order.

The eight (8) hours that were completed in
February of 2012 were reapplied by the Education
Department as 2011 elective hours to satisfy the
Consent Order. In December of 2012, the licensee
began the process of renewing his license, and he
had numerous certificates from 2, 3 and 4 hour
courses that totaled eighteen (18) hours. The four
(4) hour course certificate was the Mandatory
Course, so he felt he was in

compliance and submitted his renewal application
for 2013. However, upon further inspection, it
was determined that eight (8) of the eighteen (18)
hours that he took in 2012 had been reapplied to
2011. On July 12, 2013, he received a letter from
LREC stating he was a second-time offender. The
licensee was then required to obtain an additional
eight (8) hours to satisfy this new order and was
fined $575 (double fine of $250 = $500 plus $75
admin fee = $575).

If this person fails to take the required twelve
(12) hours of continuing education in the future,
appropriate disciplinary action will be determined
by the Commission during a formal hearing.

- Marsha Stafford
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Investigator’s Desk

JUI the
—Citations——

Citations issued from June1 to June LREC Hearing Examiner’s Tips on
30,2013: Avoiding the Education Audit

The Investigation Division issued 18 advertising

citations during the month of June. The following 1

list details the citations that were issued (most Take education hours earlier in the year.
citations are issued with multiple violations): )

11 Check the record of courses you have completed
by viewing your record on LREC’s website: Go to
Failure To Identify Listing Broker In Licensing, then click on License Search. Enter

Advertisement your name, and click on View Education History
Record. Note that the left column provides the
3 date the class was taken and the far right column

Failure To Place Brokers Phone No. In SIS 112 YL s HOES Epples.

Advertisement 3
2 Ensure that you took the correct (4) four hour
o - Mandatory Course (the title of the course always
Team Advertising Violation includes the current year and the word mandatory.
Example: Louisiana Real Estate Contracts — 2013

2 Mandatory.)

Advertising Violations by Franchises 4

1 Ensure that you have finished the entire online

course by submitting your evaluation and printing

No City, State, Country in Website 5 o5y of the course certificate.

Advertisement
2 You should retain copies of your certificates in case

No Jurisdiction Shown in Website you are asked to verify that you are in compliance.
Advertisement

- Robert Maynor - Marsha Stafford
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Investigator’s Desk

ABOUTYOURANNUAL CONTINUING
EDUCATION REQUIREMENT

1. The forty-five (45) hour post-license course
includes the mandatory topic.

False. While the forty-five (45) hour post-licensing
course may touch on some portion of the mandatory
topic, it does not satisfy the requirement of the
mandatory topic. A licensee who completed the
forty-five (45) hour post-license course will receive
eight (8) hours of continuing education but will still
need to complete the four (4) hour mandatory topic
to satisfy the continuing education requirement.

2. Licensees receive duplicate credit for attending
the same course through the same vendor if the
courses are taught by different instructors.

False. Chapter 55, Subsection 5529.C. of the
Commission’s Rules and Regulations states a
licensee shall not receive duplicate credit for
attending the same continuing education course
from the same vendor in the same year. This
means even if different instructors teach the
course, licensees can only receive credit once.

3. Individuals who get licensed in the last quarter
or month of a year are not required to complete any
continuing education.

False. All active resident (and non-resident who are
not reciprocal) licensees are obligated to complete
twelve (12) hours of continuing education, including
the four (4) hour mandatory topic. Again, licensees
can receive eight (8) hours of continuing education
credit during the same year they complete the

forty-five (45) hour post-license course, but

they will still need to complete the four (4) hour

mandatory topic. This means that if an individual

is licensed on December 15 of a given year, he/

she would still be required to complete twelve (12)

hours of continuing education, including the four
(4) hour mandatory topic.

4, By completing a four (4) hour Quadrennial
Ethics course, | have satisfied the Commission’s
mandatory topic.

False. While this course may be a requirement of

an association with which a licensee is affiliated,

it does not take the place of the Commission’s

mandatory topic. Licensees may receive credit

for this course if the course was approved by the

Commission’s Education Division for continuing
education hours.

5. Individuals who pay for and start taking the
continuing education course prior to renewal are in
compliance, regardless of when they complete the

course work.

False. Licensees must complete the required
continuing education hours prior to December 31
or their delinquent renewal date. Licensees will not
receive credit until the course work is completed
and the certificate has been issued. This means
that a licensee who starts their education prior
to December 31 would be in violation if he/she
completed the course work after renewing.

- Robert Maynor
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REMINDER

As the housing market has steadied itself
once again, licensees may be finding themselves
busier than they have been in the past few years—
however, it should be noted that we are only five
months from renewal season.

It's important that licensees start now to
ensure that they have the required Continuing
and Post-License education hours to renew their
licenses for 2014.

As a reminder, this year’s required
Continuing Education topic is Louisiana
Real Estate Contracts: Featuring the New

Residential Agreement to Buy or Sell.
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