## Louisiana Real Estate Commission State of Louisiana

Office of the Governor

JEFF LANDRY
GOVERNOR



TAYLOR F. BARRAS

COMMISSIONER OF ADMINISTRATION

## BROKER/ASSOCIATE BROKER PRE-LICENSING CHECKLIST

This checklist will help you navigate the process of obtaining a broker or associate broker license. This checklist is for your use and does not have to be submitted to the Louisiana Real Estate Commission (LREC).

- <u>Step 1</u>: Complete the *150-hour* pre-licensing education requirement, which includes: *Real Estate 201* (90-hour course regarding real estate fundamentals); *Real Estate 202* (30-hour course regarding applicable laws and regulations); and, *Real Estate 203* (30-hour course regarding broker responsibility). These courses may be completed either online or in a live classroom.
- <u>Step 2</u>: Once you have completed your pre-licensing education, submit your completion certificate, <u>Broker License Application</u>, and the required fee. Do not pay your error and omissions (E&O) insurance fee at this stage. You will pay that fee later in the licensing process.
- <u>Step 3</u>: You will receive email communications from Pearson Vue to schedule your exam date and time and to pay the applicable exam fee after LREC processes your application. Bring personal identification when you go to the exam center. Please see: Pearson VUE Candidate Handbook
- <u>Step 4</u>: Start the <u>Background Check and Fingerprinting</u> process with IdentoGO. You may schedule an appointment online to have fingerprints digitally scanned at one of many IdentiGO locations.
- <u>Step 5</u>: Take and successfully pass the exam, consisting of both the state and national portions. Pearson Vue will assist you in rescheduling and paying the fees for a subsequent exam if you are either unable to complete or otherwise fail the exam.
- <u>Step 6</u>: After successfully passing both portions of the exam, you are required to submit proof of and/or payment for your E&O insurance if you plan to immediately practice real estate activity. Please also review the Commission's website, regarding license upgrades and transfers: <u>Errors and Omissions</u>. You will also be required to complete and submit a <u>Termination of Supervision form</u> if you are upgrading from a salesperson license.
- <u>OPTIONAL</u>: You may request that your license be issued in the *inactive status* if you do not plan to immediately practice real estate activity and/or do not yet have a sponsoring real estate broker. To do so, please complete and submit the following form: Request to Issue in the Inactive License Status.
- <u>Note</u>: Any applicant seeking an associate broker license is additionally required to complete and submit the following form: <u>Associate Broker – Part B (Supervision Affidavit)</u>