Welcome Home Act – Licensed by Endorsement
In accordance with Act 253 of the 2024 Louisiana Legislative Session, the LREC will now offer licensure by endorsement to applicants currently licensed in another state. Licensure by endorsement in Louisiana allows applicants who hold a current and valid real estate license in another state to expand their career opportunities within Louisiana. Whether you’re moving to Louisiana or already residing here, this process recognizes your qualifications and facilitates professional growth. To qualify for licensure by endorsement, applicants must meet the following requirements:

  • The applicant lives in Louisiana and can provide proof of residency.
  • The applicant holds a current and valid license in another state with a similar scope of practice.
  • The applicant has held the license for at least one year.
  • The state where the applicant currently holds a license mandates passing an examination or meeting education, training, or experience standards.
  • The applicant is in “good standing” in the previous state of licensure.
  • The applicant adheres to the LREC’s felony history rules and procedures.
  • The applicant must pass the Louisiana state exam.
  • After licensure, the applicant must complete the 45-hour post-licensing education.
  • If the applicant has no pending disciplinary action or investigation in another state, the LREC may proceed with issuing a license or certification. However, if there is a pending disciplinary action or investigation, the LREC will delay its decision until the issue is resolved or the applicant meets all criteria for the license or certification to the LREC’s satisfaction.
Licensing/Education Requirements for Salesperson Applicants

Partial credit may be granted for real estate courses completed in other states. No substitution will be allowed for the 30-hour portion of the 90-hour salesperson pre-licensing requirement, which covers the Louisiana Real Estate License Law, Commission Rules/Regulations, Law of Agency and Civil Law pertaining to real estate. Credit for coursework completed in other states must be obtained by the applicant prior to submission of an application for licensing.

Licensing/Education Requirements for Broker Applicants
Applicants for an initial individual real estate broker license shall provide proof that they have been licensed as an active real estate licensee for four years, with two of the four years occurring immediately preceding submission of a broker license application. Partial credit may be granted for real estate courses completed in other states. No substitution will be allowed for the 30-hour portion of the 150-hour broker pre-licensing requirement, which covers the Louisiana Real Estate License Law, Commission Rules/Regulations, Law of Agency and Civil Law pertaining to real estate. The LREC may accept a substitution for Real Estate 203, a 30-hour Broker Responsibilities course which is a mandatory part of the 150-hour requirement if it is determined that the course completed in another state is equivalent to Real Estate 203. Credit for coursework completed in other states must be obtained by the applicant prior to submission of an application for licensing.

Coursework Credit Review Procedure for All Applicants
Applicants previously or currently licensed outside Louisiana who cannot apply as a reciprocal applicant must submit an official license history verification from the state(s) in which a license is/was issued. Applicant’s submissions must include a cover letter that contains the applicant’s complete name and contact information (mailing address, telephone number, email address, etc.). The applicant’s license history should include all pre-licensing real estate education and testing completed, and information on any previous or pending disciplinary action against the applicant. Submissions must be emailed to the Education Division at education@lrec.gov for review prior to submitting an application for licensing.

At the time of submission of the initial broker application, applicants must also submit the official license history verification, which gives the detailed breakdown of Active & Inactive license status. Broker applicants must have been licensed as an active real estate licensee for four years, with two of the four years occurring immediately preceding submission of a broker license application. Certified License History documents must list the active/inactive status of the applicant’s license showing that they meet this requirement. If the active/inactive status is not shown on the history verification, a separate letter issued by the state may be submitted as proof. The documentation submitted for the active/inactive detail cannot be older than three months at the time of application submission.

Examination Requirement for All Applicants
The LREC may accept the examination results from another state as a substitution for the National portion of the Louisiana examination if the applicant provides proof of passing an equivalent license examination within five years of the date of application for a license in Louisiana. If a waiver is granted, the applicant will be required to pass only the State portion of the Louisiana real estate license examination. Please note that examination results from other states will not be accepted from any applicant whose real estate license is expired.

Once you have received your review determination from the process listed above, please visit the Salesperson or Broker tab under the Obtain a License section on this site for a helpful Checklist to guide you through the remainder of the application process.